It’s natural to seek reassurance. Most of us want to believe that the choices we make will work out, that everything will be okay.

Artists and those that launch the untested, the new and the emotional (and I’d put marketers into all of these categories) wrestle with this need all the time. How can we proceed knowing that there’s a good chance that our actions will fail, that things might get worse, that everything won’t end up okay? In search of solace, we seek reassurance.

So people lie to us. So we lie to ourselves.

No, everything is not going to be okay. It never is. It isn’t okay now. Change, by definition, changes things. It makes some things better and some things worse. But everything is never okay.

Finding the bravery to shun faux reassurance is a critical step in producing important change. Once you free yourself from the need for perfect acceptance, it’s a lot easier to launch work that matters.

New Laura Marling Video/Single – “Devil’s Spoke” (Produced by Ethan Johns)


Laura MarlingAs you may recall, we raved about “Goodbye England (Covered in Snow),” our first preview of music from Laura Marling’s recording sessions with Ryan Adams/Ray Lamontagne/Kings of Leon producer Ethan Johns. At that time (just before Christmas), we weren’t sure whether the track was being released solely as a holiday treat or if it would also be on Marling’s forthcoming second LP, I Speak Because I Can. Well, we not only have the answer to that question today, but the full track list, first single, and official music video as well.

“Goodbye England” did in fact make the album cut, as well as 9 other songs, including the album’s first official single/opening track (in typical Ethan Johns form), “Devil’s Spoke.” In fact, the pair hit it off so well that Marling and Johns are planning to record another full-length album to be released later this year.

Check out the full track list to I Speak Because I Can after the jump and watch the official music video for “Devil’s Spoke” here or below:

Read More